REPORT ON EVENT OF

63<sup>RD</sup> NATIONAL PHARMACY WEEK CELEBRATIONS-2024

"Think Health, Think Pharmacy"

18th October, 2024

Time: 11.00 AM

National Pharmacy Week Celebrations were organised every year by the Indian

Pharmaceutical Association in association with Sarojini Naidu Vanita Pharmacy Maha

Vidyalaya, Tarnaka, Secunderabad and also in coordination with various Pharmacy colleges

in and around Hyderabad.

Inaugural event of National Pharmacy Week Celebrations -2024 was celebrated on 18th

October 2024 with the theme - "Think Health, Think Pharmacy" organised by Indian

Pharmaceutical Association, Telangana State branch in coordination with Sarojini Naidu

Vanita Pharmacy Maha Vidyalaya, Secunderabad, Telangana.

The Inaugural function of the NPW-2024 was held in the auditorium of Sarojini Naidu

Pharmacy Maha Vidyalaya, Tarnaka, Secunderabad, Telangana on 18th October 2024.

The function commenced at 11:00 am by welcoming the dignitaries onto the Dais, followed

by lighting of the lamp and invoking the blessings of God with a devotional song by Ms.

Rakshitha of PharmD IV yr & Ms.Madhura of B Pharm II yr.

For this event, total number of participants attended the event were 220.

The dignitaries below were invited on to the Dais with a floral bouquet

1. Dr. B. Prabha Shankar, Chairman, Sarojini Naidu Vanita Pharmacy Mahavidyalaya;

Managing Director & CEO, Leads Pharma Pvt. Ltd., Hyderabad & President, Indian

Pharmaceutical Association, Telangana State Branch.

2. Guest of Honor, Sri. O. Ramaraju, Expert Retail Pharma Chain, U.S.A

3. Guest of Honor, Prof. V. Malla Reddy, Former Registrar and Dean, University College

of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Kakatiya University, Warangal

4. Chief Guest, Prof. Rambhau, Technical Director at Pulse Pharmaceuticals,

Hyderabad, Telangana, India

1

- 5. Sri. K. Ram Prasad Reddy, Secretary, Indian Pharmaceutical Association, Telangana State Branch.
- 6. Smt. Depala Sandhya, Hony. Treasurer, Sarojini Naidu Vanita Pharmacy Mahavidyalaya
- 7. Mr.M.Amruth Rao, Ex-Drugs Controller, Telangana, Vice President, IPA, Telangana State Branch.
- 8. Dr. N. Srinivas, Director, Sarojini Naidu Vanita Pharmacy Mahavidyalaya.
- 9. Dr. T. Mamatha, Principal, Sarojini Naidu Vanita Pharmacy Mahavidyalaya.
- 10. Dr. K. Sirisha, Vice-Principal, Sarojini Naidu Vanita Pharmacy Mahavidyalaya

The **63rd National Pharmacy Week Celebrations-2024** commenced with an inspiring and warm welcome address by **Dr. B. Prabha Shankar**, a renowned leader in the field of pharmacy. His address set the tone for the event, embodying the theme, "Think Health, Think Pharmacy". Dr. Prabha Shankar extended a heartfelt welcome to the esteemed dignitaries, including the Chief Guest, Guests of Honor, faculty members, students, and all attendees. He expressed gratitude to the Exhibition Society for sponsoring the event and recognized the pivotal role of such collaborations in fostering academic and professional growth in pharmacy. He highlighted the importance Indian Pharmaceutical Association, Telangana State Branch which is conducting various events in coordination with the pharmacy institutions in and around the Hyderabad.

Sri. O. Ramaraju, an esteemed expert in the field of retail pharmacy chains in the U.S.A., delivered a compelling and thought-provoking address. His speech aligned seamlessly with the event's theme, \*"Think Health, Think Pharmacy," and inspired the audience with his insights into the evolving role of pharmacy in healthcare. Sri. Ramaraju's speech served as an eye-opener for both students and professionals, shedding light on the vast opportunities within the field of pharmacy. His global perspective and emphasis on community engagement and technological adoption provided actionable insights for enhancing healthcare delivery in India.

**Prof. V. Malla Reddy**, an esteemed academic and a pioneer in pharmaceutical sciences, delivered an inspiring address. Prof. Malla Reddy shared his insights on the transformative journey of pharmacy education in India. He emphasized the growing importance of producing well-rounded professionals who can address the dynamic needs of the healthcare industry. Prof. Reddy highlighted how pharmacists today are not just dispensers of

medication but crucial players in patient care and public health. He called for expanding the

pharmacist's role in preventive healthcare, chronic disease management, and patient

education.

**Prof. Rambhau**, a distinguished figure in the pharmaceutical industry, delivered an engaging

and insightful address. Drawing from his extensive experience, he shed light on the

challenges faced by the pharmaceutical industry. His message highlighted the immense

potential of pharmacy as a profession while offering practical guidance on how to harness

this potential. Sir underscored the importance of critical thinking, problem-solving, and

ethical practices in shaping a successful career in pharmacy. Sir emphasized the shift in

pharmacy from traditional medicine dispensing to becoming a vital component of healthcare

delivery systems.

All the speeches were well-received, drawing admiration for its informative and forward-

thinking approach. Principals of various pharmacy colleges also graced the occasion.

It was followed by felicitation of guests by the dignitaries on the stage which was a highlight

of the program, showcasing gratitude and admiration for their significant contributions with a

momento and shawl.

Chief Guest: Prof. Rambhau, Technical Director, Pulse Pharmaceuticals, Hyderabad

Guest of Honor: Sri. O. Ramaraju, Expert in Retail Pharma Chain, USA

Guest of Honor: Prof. V. Malla Reddy, Former Registrar and Dean, University College of

Pharmaceutical Sciences, Kakatiya University, Warangal

The function was concluded for the morning session with Vote of Thanks by Sri K.

Ramprasad Reddy IPA Secretary, Telangana State Branch and ended up with National

Anthem followed by Lunch to the Dignitaries, Teaching, Non-teaching staff and students

from various colleges.

3

Anchors: Mrs.J.Swathi, Asst Prof, Dept of Analysis and Sidra Tabassum of PharmD V year.

**Stage Committee:** Dr.S.Anuradha Bai, Professor, Dept of Quality Assurance and Dr.P.Praneetha, Associate Professor, Dept of Pharmacognosy.



